don't tell me to get a mini-mal

Tribal discussion for shortboarders

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, Shari, Forum Moderators

smigan

don't tell me to get a mini-mal

Post by smigan » Tue Jan 20, 2004 5:53 pm

hey there
i'm just getting into the surfing and want to get a board, everyone i've talked to said " get a minin mal, it's bouyant and is this it's that'
i'm a 23yr old female, 5ft and 45kg therefore unless i take up body building and my arms stretch a foot i can't carry one.
is there anyone out there that has learnt on a shortboard? a friend said there are some shorties around that are a little thicker.
any tips or should i just get used to lugging the thing up the beach, any advice is helpful

Longboarder
regular

Post by Longboarder » Tue Jan 20, 2004 7:06 pm

Get a fish or a very fat shortboard for bouyancy.

the kalakau kid

Post by the kalakau kid » Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:19 pm

Smigan,

have you tired any good shops? ones that stock more boards than clothes? They should be able to help out - there are heaps around manly/nthn beaches. These days there are plenty of boards under 7ft that have dimensions suited to a beginner.
Most of them will probably be as longboarder indicated - fishy type things ( do you understand what a fish is? )
there are even - dare I say it, some epoxy boards that will suit you.

learning on a std shortboard is possible but i think you will progress much faster if you have a board suited to learning. Longboards are the ultimate beginners board but they are heavy, wide and difficult to handle in waves of any size - for a beginner.

my personal advice for learing to surf is to ride a longboard in small waves with as few people around as possible.

need more info?
post back.

aloha

Bigpete

Post by Bigpete » Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:53 am

Hi Smigan, welcome to the tribe.