Is my board too long/thick/wide?

Tribal discussion for shortboarders

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, Shari, Forum Moderators

jesse370

Is my board too long/thick/wide?

Post by jesse370 » Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:00 pm

Guys,

I have started surfing around 2 years ago and I am currently riding a 6"2 x 20 3/4 x 2 3/4 (after stepping down from a 7"0), which is a big chunk of foam.

I have been riding narrower and thinner boards before and I especially felt like I was able to turn much sharper and faster. Take-offs felt better and I could ramp up speed more easily. Also, the board I have doesn't perform that well on bigger waves (3ft+), probably due to its wideness, could that be?

On the other hand I can say, that I am not a pro on this board either, I am fore from mastering the board yet I think, but I am really asking myself if it holds back my progress curve as I am surfing at least 5 times every week and I am in good physical shape. Stepping down from the 7'0 to the 6'2 didn't feel like it was hard either for me in terms of balance and paddling.

What do you reckon to do if I surf that often and want to progress?

I am thinking about something in the 5'11/6'0 x 18 1/2 x 2 3/8 range - I am 175cm (5"10) tall and weigh roughly 70kg.

I would be more than happy about your feedback and recommendations!

Cheers guys!

alakaboo
Huey's Right Hand

Re: Is my board too long/thick/wide?

Post by alakaboo » Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:19 pm

The board you are currently riding sounds like it is too wide, that board would probably be for someone up to 95kgs or so.
But it has more to do with the shape and the distribution of foam. It is most likely a small wave board, fairly flat, with a lot of volume.

Your suggested new board sounds better. I ride similar dimensions and I am 5kgs heavier and a touch taller.
If you are surfing 5 times a week, go the smaller board and adapt to it.

jesse370

Post by jesse370 » Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:47 pm