Jumping from a quad to a thruster

Tribal discussion for shortboarders

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, Shari, Forum Moderators

Shoulder hopper
Grommet

Jumping from a quad to a thruster

Post by Shoulder hopper » Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:24 pm

I've been riding quads for a couple of years now and love them but am heading to indo next year and I'm thinking of taking my quad plus a longer thruster for bigger days.
My question is how hard do you reckon it is to jump back on a thruster after surfing quads for that amount of time or do I get a longer quad for bigger waves. Is that even an option(longer quad) or just get back onto thrusters?

mustkillmulloway
Owl status

Re: Jumping from a quad to a thruster

Post by mustkillmulloway » Sun May 08, 2011 9:15 pm

once u jump back on a thtuster u will wonder why u wasted all those waves riding a quad :idea: :lol:
reginald wrote:Hang on, now all of a sudden I'm the bad guy. How the try again did that happen?

Cpt.Caveman
barnacle

Post by Cpt.Caveman » Mon May 09, 2011 11:34 am

I do notice some getting used to needed, mainly because the smallest bit of back foot pressure starts you off on a turn. Compared to quads which need to be tipped over just slightly until they respond (a fraction of a second). I found myself doing turns and cutbacks before even thinking about it..haha :)

It didn't take much getting used to for me, but I swap around boards a lot so I'm used to adapting to the board...
Davros wrote:Ego saved - surfing experience rubbish.

bohdidontsurf
Local

Post by bohdidontsurf » Mon May 09, 2011 1:41 pm

I don't know what kind if quads you are surfing but I swap between the two regularly ... sometimes in the one session.. quite often if it's good I will head back to the car after a couple of hours and swap to a board with a bit more volume ( arms dead easier to paddle) which is usually different to the first board re fin set up .. I never have any issues adjusting

alakaboo
Huey's Right Hand