medewi point west bali

Wondering if there are surfable waves someplace you've never visited? Or have you had an injury and want to compare experiences? Do it here!

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, Shari, Forum Moderators

mudguts
regular

medewi point west bali

Post by mudguts » Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:36 pm

well i want to go for a holiday with the missus for a week. sort of staying away from the main tourist places. surfing will not be the main pursuit but i would like to sneak the odd wave or 10 in.I am not an expert surfer by any stretch of the imagination so want to stay away from heavier reefs. But in saying that i am not a long boarding geezer either. being goofy footed lefts obviously appeal to me.

has anyone been to/surfed medewi area? It seems like it would suit me pretty well. How does it go in say late august time? Does any one have any other suggestions of places to go around bali at that time, keeping what i have said earlier in mind.

dy_fo_life
regular

Post by dy_fo_life » Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:56 pm

Medewi=The Collaroy of Bali, but have heard conflicting stories that at low tide it does get more wally and a few bowls.But have never been so don't take my word on it.
Better stopping off at Balian which is halfway between kuta and Medewi...better early mornings as the wind stuffs it in the dry season arvos.
August is good but try and go around full moon/new moon as you will generally get swell even if it is only tidal.

dy_fo_life
regular

Post by dy_fo_life » Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:03 pm

here's a link cause I ain't busy http://www.8bird.com/surf/bali/medewi.html
Looks heaps better than the roy.

mudguts
regular

Post by mudguts » Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:13 pm

i cant read japanese, but the pictures do look good.

i don t understand the collaroy joke cause i am a south sider

dy_fo_life
regular

Post by dy_fo_life » Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:24 pm

i don t understand the collaroy joke cause i am a south sider