Pricing Promo Surfboards

Can't find the right forum, then post your general surf-related remarks here!

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, beach_defender, Shari, Forum Moderators

Aclunker

Pricing Promo Surfboards

Post by Aclunker » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:00 pm

Hey,
I'm new to the culture of surfing. I acquired a surfboard upon arriving in Australia. The board was a promotional board for the release of Bondi Blonde beer. The guy before me won it in a raffle at the release party. I attached some pictures of the board. It has one ding in the side from transporting on a roof rack. It has only been surfed a few times. The dimensions are 6'10" x 20 1/6" x 2 5/8". I put some FCS glass fins and creatures leg rope on it.
Anyway, I'm wondering how does one determine the price of a limited edition/rare/one-of-a-kind surfboard? I presume it's what someone is willing to pay for it. However, I don't know where to set the price at. For such surfboards is ebay the best option??? However, I would like to sell it locally in the Sydney area for convenience.

Anyway, I would like this forum topic to be a discussion of what the surf community thinks the price of limited ed./promo surfboards should be? Also, some advice on the price of my board would be helpful.

Personally, I was told before the board was ever surfed that it was one-of-a-kind, would be a collectors item someday and not to surf the board at all. However, although it may be a collector's item to some, it was my only surfboard. So I rode it and don't regret it.
Last edited by Aclunker on Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

pridmore
Owl status

Re: Pricing rare, one-of-a-kind Surfboards

Post by pridmore » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:13 pm