"Front foot" vs "back foot" surfers?

Can't find the right forum, then post your general surf-related remarks here!

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, beach_defender, Shari, Forum Moderators

Red October

"Front foot" vs "back foot" surfers?

Post by Red October » Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:53 pm

Had a discussion with a shaper regarding a rocker type he was using on his high performance short boards and he mentioned that it tended to suit a "back foot " surfer.When asked what type of surfer I was all I could answer was "I use both feet!" I've been surfing for 28 years but still dont really understand how these classifications work. What criteria do people use to determine if they are "front foot" or "back foot"? If I'm racing down the line to beat sections am I "front footing"? When I do a cutty/layback/gouge is this back foot surfing? Am I just thick and should know this shit by now?

mustkillmulloway
Owl status

Re: "Front foot" vs "back foot" surfers?

Post by mustkillmulloway » Fri Apr 16, 2010 10:28 pm

pretty much anyone who posts on realsurf suffers some mental retradation so don't worry about being thick...your with friends :lol:

many heal and leave thu :wink:

i'm a front foot surfer.....to me...i understand as i move most my turns more off the rails and middle the board...kinda a vibe here i guess :oops:

my mates a heavy back foot surfer....all his turns are off the tail ( so they all kinda stall and look good but loses speed and misses the best sections and looks like a dork ...hi mark :lol: )

by heavy....his tail pads rip up after a couple months :shock:

best example i can give....i got a old mccoy nugget. ( cause i admire what mccoy designs) about midway thu the first turn on the first wave i was thinking mark love this board :lol:

it's a back foot design.....so i gave him a go on it...and he loved it :idea:

for me.....nahhhh....i rate the design and all...but don't work for me :wink: