Wetherill Point

Can't find the right forum, then post your general surf-related remarks here!

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, beach_defender, Shari, Forum Moderators

Sausage
regular

Wetherill Point

Post by Sausage » Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:35 am

I had to laugh when I saw the beach erosion article in the Manly Daily when they referred to Wetherill Point. I surfed there about 2 moths ago and I had to jump off the rocks to get out. It was kind of fun. Ive been surfing Narrabeen for 25 years and I have never seen the beach this eroded.
Finally the government are taking beach nourishment seriously and they understand seawalls and groynes are not the answer.
I thought a artificial reef to take the impact like they have at the Goldie....

What do you guys think of beach nourishment? Do you have any other idea's?

Below is the link to the Manly Daily

http://www.manlydaily.com.au/article/20 ... _news.html

Kunji
Huey's Right Hand

Post by Kunji » Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:45 am

Great topic.

I dont have a clue when it comes to this topic. I always wanted there to be a sick breakwall, but for selfish reasons. :lol:

Why would a breakwall or a groin fail? Is if from the shape of Longy somehow? The south swells would undermine the beach south of the wall?

Keen to hear what some people from the "RS brains trust" had to say about it.

wanto
barnacle

Post by wanto » Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:47 am

the sea wall at dy is retarded, and now that the beach is gone maybe in future councils will take note?

what you need is something that absorbs both the wave energy and available sand. a hard vertical surface does the opposite in both cases.