Lap Swimming for Surf Training

Can't find the right forum, then post your general surf-related remarks here!

Moderators: jimmy, collnarra, PeepeelaPew, Butts, beach_defender, Shari, Forum Moderators

Smolchy
Grommet

Lap Swimming for Surf Training

Post by Smolchy » Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:39 pm

I have been swimming for about 3 months now 3 times a week. Being a weekend warrior I think its best option to excercise paddling muscles and keep myself fit for when I do get to hit the surf. To start with I can swim about 200m before stopping for quick few breaths then swim 100 m at a time stopping for quick breath at 100m intervals , I keep this going for about 40 mins . I quit smoking 2 weeks ago and has made a big difference to my breathing but I still think I should be swimming more. Anyone here who is a strong swimmer, What type of distance should I be aiming for in the next 6 months or so ? Id like to be up around 400m in under 8 mins, so I can go for the Bronze medallion. Went for a quick surf today and noticed a big difference in paddling ability and recovery time after paddling back out after catching waves. Any1 who swims got any tips?

bookster
barnacle

Post by bookster » Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:47 pm

If you do a search under fitness (I think) I seem to remeber a thread which had some good sets of lap swimming tips....

Nick-W
barnacle

Post by Nick-W » Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:57 pm

Work on your breathing, take a breath every 3 strokes so you breath alternate sides. I was told by a very highly respected coach that it increases your lung capacity and oxygen saturation in your blood for racing.

But your not racing so you know, its your choice, but it works.

Morning training (fitness sessions) normally consisted of;

20 laps warm up, no stopping for more than a few seconds anyway, after 5 laps you should be in a rhythm and a tumble turn lets you keep the same rhythm so you dont break and its over quicker and you can recover at the end.